Alice Munro wins Nobel Prize for Literature

Canadian author Alice Munro has won the 2013 Nobel Prize for Literature.

Making the announcement, Peter Englund, permanent secretary of the Swedish Academy, called her a "master of the contemporary short story".

Her books include Dear Life and Dance of the Happy Shades.

Previous winners of the prize include literary giants such as Rudyard Kipling, Toni Morrison and Ernest Hemingway.

Presented by the Nobel Foundation, the award - only for living writers - is worth eight million kronor (£770,000).

Last year's recipient was Chinese novelist Mo Yan.